The Mount

I climb to the top, and at once, am bemused by the sight of God who appears before me in a pillar of fire. Out of His mouth billows smoke and flames. I sit on the mountain’s peak, with lightning striking all around and thunder rolling; echoing into every distance. His tongue lashes, and appears like a furnace. While I sit at his feet, I tremble at the sound of his voice. Shaking uncontrollably like I’m freezing cold, but really, I am just full of fear. I will not open my mouth until I am asked and I can barely look up because of the light blazing from God’s face.

Leave a Reply

