The Impulsive Heart

Curse you! Oh, heart of mine.
You led me back to same place
and promised this time
would be different.

But it’s not. No, not at all! The
same place hurts just as bad as
I remember. Dare I say, it hurts
more!

Curse you! Why do I listen still
to your wayward ways? Your
fickle second-guessing leaves
a wake like crop circles pressed
into a field.

You wait ‘til I’m downtrodden.
‘Til I’m nothing but dirt on boot’s
bottom, then you wrench and
writhe. Oh, you are wretched!

You are corrupt. A ruthless
dictator who wants nothing less
than complete control. You leave
me emotionally bankrupt, then you
make me take out loans.

Curse you! Oh, heart of mine.
Curse you again and again.
For I have believed in you too long,
like the abused returning to her abuser.
Curse You!

Leave a Reply

