When You Speak

The thundering voice spoke today
You spoke today
I have been waiting
And today I listened

You said few words
But I heard them
You said, “Do not worry”
And then You said it again

I worry Lord
I worry ‘til there’s no more time left in the day
I worry and believe lies
I worry Lord

But today you said, “Do not”
So with my hands out I say, “Ok”
I will try and listen
Even though tomorrow I may not

Even though tomorrow, I’ll forget
And wrap myself up in all these lies
Until they are familiar
Until they become my friends

But today you said, “Do not”
And today I say, “Ok”
I will not worry today
I will believe in You alone

I will fight with the breath left
I will stand and face it
I will love
I will love You, God

Show me what You will
Show me Your will
Show me, Lord
For I will not worry today

Not after what You said

Leave a Reply

