When they started playin’

…and the horns started playin’
on a breezy ‘Orleans afternoon.
Air thick with bourbon and perfume.
Air thick with bourbon and perfume.

Sometime soon, I wanna play me
some ragtime on that old piano.
Next time, bring the whole band tho’.

The solo went rata tat tat.
They could hear that saxophone blast
all the way down on 4th street.

‘Course he was moved by the sound
of those early evening blues.
Air thick with bourbon and perfume.
Air thick with bourbon and perfume.

Baseline went bump de bump bump.
He not dancing’ he sitting’ like a chump
while the rest jivin’ like some loons.

Sometime soon, I wanna play
while old Benny does croon
and I know she’ll be in full bloom.

When the horns started playin’
on that breezy ‘Orleans afternoon,
It was that summer time june.
It was that summer time june.

When the horns started playin’
On that breezy ‘Orleans afternoon,
I knew I gotta change my tune.
So I can see her again soon.

Leave a Reply

