Jordan

Hemingway said, “All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence you know.” Right now, mine is this: Jordan Pieniazek loved people well. He loved his wife. He loved his children. He loved his friends. He loved folks he’d just met. He loved people that others felt were hard to love and he made it look easy, effortless even. It was, and still is, such an active love, one that Jordan seemed to drape over you like a warm blanket. When you left being with him, the love he showed you would not fade, it would carry on into the car and remain during the ride home. I feel fortunate that I got a chance to see this love. To feel this love. To hear this love ring out of one incredible man. When I think of him, I will think of his encouragement and his kind words. What a joy it was to feel like you were exactly the person he wanted to be with. There was never a feeling like he had somewhere more important with more interesting people. Instead, you felt the very rare sensation that you were “it”. I imagine that being in the presence of God is quite a similar feeling. I hope that I can love my children and my future wife with the same sweetness, purity and fullness. I hope that I can speak as he did about his children; like they were treasures worthy of utmost protection. I am one of so many that feel impacted by the way he lived his life. What a wave can be caused by rock such as this. Until we meet again!

 

Leave a Reply

